Fb is experimenting with privateness settings that apply to particular person feedback. Because of this you would write a reply to a thread, however solely pre-approved people can see it. Right here’s what it appears like:

Clicking the padlock icon brings up the safety settings. This has 4 choices: buddies and submit proprietor solely; buddies solely; submit proprietor and commenter solely; and everybody else.

From what we are able to inform, this can be a small-scale take a look at that’s solely out there to a handful of customers. That’s a disgrace, as a result of I can think about this being useful for engagement.

On a hotly contentious information story, for instance, somebody could also be cautious of posting a remark, lest they obtain abuse. By guaranteeing the remark is just viewable by their buddies, this isn’t a problem.

We’ve reached out to Fb for remark, and to ask about plans for a wider roll-out. In the event that they get again to us, we’ll replace this piece.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.