Picture credit score: David McNew/Getty
Hey, Californians! Now that California is lastly promoting leisure marijuana, you may be pondering “Nice, now I can eliminate this card.” However when you’re additionally pondering “Nice, I can’t wait to get stoned and drive to work,” you might want a refresher course on what’s authorized and what’s not. California’s Proposition 64 permits for leisure use for marijuana, but in addition imposes a number of guidelines to maintain everybody secure when out and about.
What You Can DoBuy Weed, No Card Required
As of January 1, you not want a medical marijuana card to get your self some pot. So long as you’re 21 and over, you’re in a position to buy as much as one ounce of marijuana, or eight grams of concentrated hashish. If you’re a medical marijuana affected person, you’ll be exempt from the retail gross sales tax on medical hashish when you possess a Medical Marijuana Identification Card issued by the California Division of Public Well being.
Develop a Few Crops
You possibly can develop your personal marijuana crops, as much as six at a time. Because you’re rising it your self, you get to reap and maintain no matter your crops produce, although it have to be in a locked container, out of view from the general public. That plant can solely be grown indoors, or inside an enclosed construction.
What you Can’t DoYou Nonetheless Can’t Smoke in Public
Smoking marijuana in public continues to be unlawful, and brings with it a $100 fantastic. You’re additionally prohibited from consuming marijuana close to faculties and daycare facilities, and may’t have any marijuana when on college grounds. After all, anybody underneath 21 is prohibited from possessing marijuana of any quantity.
No Smoking and Driving, Both
You possibly can have marijuana in your automobile, although driving whereas underneath the affect of marijuana is illegitimate, similar to driving drunk. Additionally, that marijuana have to be in a sealed container. If that seal is damaged, you’ll should put your pot within the trunk of your automobile.
Don’t Purchase Too A lot Weed
You’re solely allowed to buy as much as one ounce of marijuana. Any extra and also you’re committing a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fantastic or a number of months in jail. When you’re rising marijuana, you may maintain as a lot as your crops harvest.